Logo
Call Now For Consultation
 
916-822-8702

Sacramento DUI Penalties

Posted on : November 29, 2015

In California, every DUI is taken seriously. The penalties are harsh, and you could face life-changing consequences. This is especially true if it is your second or third DUI offense. Here’s what you need to know about getting arrested for drinking and driving in Sacramento, and what to do next.

1st Offense DUI

If you are charged with a first time DUI, the penalties can seem steep, but aren’t as severe as if you are charged with a second or third DUI. However, this does not mean that these penalties don’t have the power to change your life and create significant problems. If you are arrested for a DUI for the first time, you could be sentenced to:

  • Up to 6 months in a county jail
  • Heavy fines and penalty assessments, in some cases up to $2,000
  • A 6-month license suspension
  • Mandatory court-approved alcohol counseling for 3 months
  • 3-5 years of summary probation

2nd Offense DUI

A second offense DUI is a serious charge. The penalties are harsher than a first offense DUI, and California courts take a second offense DUI seriously because it allegedly indicates that the defendant has a propensity to drink and drive. If you are arrested and charged with a second offense DUI, you could face:

  • Up to one year in a county jail, with a minimum sentence of 96 hours
  • 18-30 months of mandatory court-ordered DUI school
  • Fines and penalty assessments, which could be up to $2,000
  • 3-5 years of summary probation
  • License suspension

3rd Offense DUI

If you are arrested for a DUI a third time, you stand to incur very severe penalties, including:

  • Up to one year in jail, with a minimum sentence of 120 days
  • A 30 month mandatory court-ordered DUI school
  • Approximately $2,000 in fines
  • 3-5 years of summary probation

In addition to these penalties, all DUI offenses will put a black mark on your criminal record, which will follow you for the rest of your life. This could potentially make it difficult for you to get a job, rent a house, buy a car, or obtain a professional license.

When to Contact a DUI Attorney

Any time you are accused of a DUI, whether it is a first or subsequent offense, you need to have solid legal representation. At the Law Office of Jennifer Mouzis, we can provide you with quality legal assistance throughout every stage of your case, and will zealously advocate for the dismissal of your case or the least severe charges possible.

Call today for a consultation at (916) 822-8702.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*