Do Out of State Drivers Need A Lawyer for A California DUI?

No matter what state you are in, a California DUI is an unwelcome experience and one that you might not be familiar with how to handle until you have been charged with a crime. It’s important when charged with any crime, including a DUI, to get the support of an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately.

Your criminal defense lawyer is a person who should be familiar with the state and local laws and a person who can guide you through the criminal defense process as effectively as possible. One of the most confusing situations to find yourself in is that of being an out of state driver who receives a DUI in the state of California.

You need an experienced criminal defense attorney who is familiar with the specific laws of California and someone who may be able to represent you if you have to return home from your trip. If you are arrested in California for driving with a BAC of 0.08 or higher, the arresting officer might give you notice that your privilege to drive in California will be suspended for 30 days or the officer will confiscate the driver’s license of a California resident driver and replace it with a temporary one.

The California DMV is immediately notified whether your privilege is suspended, or the officer seizes your license and you have a maximum of 10 days following that action to challenge the suspension. You need an experienced California DUI defense attorney to request a California DMV hearing.

Furthermore, you need to be aware of the possibility that this DUI is likely to be reported on your driver’s record in your home state. This is why you need to retain an experienced California criminal defense attorney immediately to protect your rights and advise you of your following action steps. The support of an experienced lawyer goes a long way in giving you peace of mind and helping you prepare for what to anticipate especially if you have to return home while also facing criminal charges in California.